The view from up here.

There are days when I miss
The shadow I once kept close
Firmly beneath my feet, 
A darling companion

Not once did I expect this,
A me that existed apart from
My oldest friend;
All only bitter or only delight

But as in all tragedies, my shadow
Was set in its tireless ways.
Its only other friend was gravity
And one it would never, ever leave.

All it took was an unforgiving heart
So I bid my shadow “farewell,”
And heard only
The echo of wooden creaks

It is an easy rest
To breathe new air overhead
The rough, all familiar but distant
An insatiable rage I knew too well

For now, I tend to
My still beating heart
And count stars, all plain to see
Thanks to the view from up here.


Follow A Box of Gales on Social Media for shits and giggles updates, I guess.

Facebook: /boxofgales
Instagram: @boxofgales
Twitter: @nerdthecynical

Leave a comment