Dawn.

“It was the nightingale, and not the lark,”
Shakespeare’s way of saying
Five minutes more
His way of stretching out the dark.

I could never decide which I preferred,
Wide-eyed and awake
With the brightness of the day
Or with the gentle hoots of the evening bird.

Whichever way it goes,
I know when I’m writing this
Just at the last minute,
Unsure, but let’s see where the wind blows.

Exactly as you do
When you’ve done enough of
Waiting and planning, now cramming
Here come the days you rue.

But enough of pointing fingers!
There are excuses aplenty
And I know for sure I’ll do this 
Despite the many, many blisters.

“You reap what you sow,”
And so the saying goes.
Still I remain just as eager to see
The dawn and how it helps me grow.


Follow A Box of Gales on Social Media for shits and giggles updates, I guess.

Facebook: /boxofgales
Instagram: @boxofgales
Twitter: @nerdthecynical

Leave a comment