Growth / Decay

I like to think I’ve always been wise
Never to fear growth
Though it takes accepting change,
Which always gives me pause
Because I have known pain
Through the goodbyes I refused to say
And the see-you-laters I eventually embraced.

But I’ve learned enough to know
That, while the grass is nearly never greener,
There’s something in it for everyone,
That I can trust it will be for the better,
And that the fear comes natural
When you take a step forward
With a blindfold you tied to yourself.

Then there’s the other side of the coin,
The one I think I’m wise enough to fear:
That if I stop taking leaps of faith
Or give in to a sliver of doubt,
All of this pain will have been for nothing.
That if I grab and cling to strings of the past,
Instead of growing, I’ll fall into decay.

I’m lucky and happy to say
It usually doesn’t last
And I’m the soonest to declare and repeat
For both my friends and those willing to hear
That the fear of everything is always there,
But to which of them do you give the power
And which of them do you overcome and defeat?


Follow A Box of Gales on Social Media for shits and giggles updates, I guess.

Facebook: /boxofgales
Instagram: @boxofgales
Twitter: @nerdthecynical

Leave a comment