Dear ones in dire times.

I feel like it’s been forever since I wrote a letter into the void. I’ve been doing morning pages (or afternoon or evening, it really depends lol), so that might have shaved off of that normally desperate need for a while. But it’s been a few days since I opened my particular notebook for it and I’ve not been very motivated to write about what inspires and what I’m grateful for the day.

Today, though, is another chill day in a couple of weeks worth of chill days. And I’m especially lucky to be so, months into this strange time we’re experiencing as a whole of humanity. Some might like to compare this pandemic with previous pandemics that occurred in the ‘20s of each century, but I’ve never been much for conspiracies. In any case, people die of disease and illnesses every day. It’s just that they happen amongst the many other difficulties life throws at us. COVID-19, though, is a beast of its own. Well, it’s a different breed of a specific specie of beast. So, it’s a mutant that we’re trying our damnedest to defeat this summer of 2020.

As much as this is a crisis, it’s also a time for healing. The time for healing in this decade, if anything. While there are those that deny (oh, curse that darn river in Egypt) this disease’s validity and would rather point fingers at who may be to blame, nothing is/should be more important than helping each other. When did it become so hard for us to feel compassion for those that are suffering? So much of this hate started/is based on each of our beliefs in how others should live our lives, but how could we forget that the point of the matter is just to live?

I’m definitely disappointed that 2020 is being such a bitch to us and that we’ve wasted most of this summer indoors instead of in, on, within, and underneath the water. I miss the ocean so much, and I’ve been desperate to go back since the drive home last year. I was so looking forward to at least a dip into a pool, planning on regular Sunday mornings swimming with my cousin. He’s growing up so fast and I’m anxious to see and embrace him again.

In the meantime, I’ve been busy building a routine that works for me. I’m fortunate to be able to work from home and receive a somewhat regular income. It can be disheartening when you hear from people you know and learn that they’re not doing so well, and while my first instinct is to lend a hand, it’s also essential that I save what little I do have for any emergencies that my family may encounter. It’s a double-edged knife and I admire people that are willing and capable of sharing their blessings.

That said, there’s plenty enough in it to gain credit and I have neither room nor patience for them in my life. I wish them well, though.

I suppose I’ll close this with a simple intention: to do what I can with what I have. I hope you can do the same! And if you’re riding out this pandemic on your own, please feel free to reach out. I’d love to hear from you.


PS: Wow, this is my 100th blog post! That’s kind of amazing. Congratulations to me!

Follow A Box of Gales on Social Media for shits and giggles updates, I guess.

Facebook: /boxofgales
Instagram: @boxofgales
Twitter: @nerdthecynical

Leave a comment